8th Annual Women Leaders
in Oncology Reception

Monday, June 7, 2021

Thank you for supporting the next generation of women leaders in oncology!

With your support and generosity, we have fully funded the 2022 Women Leaders in Oncology Women Who Conquer Cancer Young Investigator Award
(WLO WWCC YIA) and are building momentum toward the WLO YIA endowment!

We have raised ~$16,000 toward the WLO YIA endowment, the first step toward a target of $1.35 million within 5 years. Please encourage your network of colleagues, family, and friends to support the WLO YIA, which will ensure that female oncology scientists can receive annual research funding for years to come!
All donations made will be matched by Deanna van Gestel and Vaniam Group
up to $100,000!

To donate, text WLO to 41444 or visit here.

Thank You, Dr. Lori Pierce!

Culminating her term as ASCO President, Dr. Pierce gave an impactful keynote address that built on her personal history, underscoring the long-reaching impact of inequalities and the importance of working toward equitable conditions in oncology care, research, and careers.

“The talent among the women gathered here is exceptional. The potential is so great. Just imagine all that we can do to contribute to the goal of equity. Just Imagine.”

Lori Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO University of Michigan

Perspectives on Equity

Drs. Kemi Doll, Ritu Salani, and Tania Small provided their perspectives on equity in oncology to ensure all patients and professionals benefit from advances in cancer care.

Congratulations 2021 Honorees!

Women Leaders in Oncology Women Who Conquer Cancer 2021 Recipients

Marcella Kaddoura, MD
Mayo Clinic – Rochester
Elizabeth Zhang-Velten, MD, PhD
UT Southwestern Medical Center

2021 WWCC Mentorship
Award Recipients

2021 International WWCC Mentorship Award Recipient
Lorna Awo Renner, MB ChB, MPH, FRCPCH, FGCPS
University of Ghana Medical School
2021 Hologic, Inc. Endowed WWCC Mentorship Award Recipient
Jennifer A. Ligibel, MD, FASCO
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute ​

2021 WWCC Career Development Award Recipients

Genentech BioOncology™ Women Who Conquer Cancer Career Development Award
Elysia Alvarez, MD, MPH
University of California, Davis
Women Who Conquer Cancer Career Development Award (WWCC Donor Supported)
Stephanie Dixon, MD, MPH
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

2021 WWCC Young Investigator Award Recipients

Bristol Myers Squibb Endowed Women Who Conquer Cancer Young Investigator Award
Kelly Burke, MD, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Debra Lesavoy Women Who Conquer Cancer
Young Investigator Award
Jennifer Morgan, MD
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Conquer Cancer – Endowed Women Who Conquer Cancer Young Investigator Award
Grace Blitzer, MD
University of Wisconsin – Madison
Women Who Conquer Cancer Young Investigator Award in Recognition of an Outstanding Latina Researcher
Rebecca Shulman, MD
Fox Chase Cancer Center
Women Who Conquer Cancer Pediatric
Young Investigator Award
Esther Berko, MD, PhD
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Puma Biotechnology, Women Who Conquer Cancer
Young Investigator Award
Patrizia Mondello, MD, PhD, MSc
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

WLO Leadership Nominees

51 women were nominated by WLO attendees for exemplifying leadership in oncology and serving as mentors and advocates. On behalf of WLO, thank you for your exceptional leadership and continued advocacy for women in oncology.

Meg Amplement
Carey Anders
Duke University
Soo Bang
Bristol Myers Squibb
Sibel Blau
Northwest Medical Specialties
Linda Bosserman
City of Hope National Medical Center
Julie Brahmer
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Casaundra Copeland
Kelly Covello
Mirati Therapeutics
Neelima Denduluri
Virginia Cancer Specialists, PC
Lisa Diller
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Narjust Duma
University of Wisconsin
Mary Jo Fidler
Rush Medical Center
Meredith Giuliani
Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
Stephanie Graff
Brown University
Nazik Hammad
Queen’s University
Maha Hussain
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center
Reshma Jagsi
University of Michigan
Pamela Kunz
Yale School of Medicine
Suzanne Lentzsch
Columbia University
Linda Livingstone
Kah Poh Loh
University of Rochester
Ursula Matulonis
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Ana Merz
Kathy Miller
Indiana University
Kathleen Moore
University of Oklahoma
Alicia Morgans
Northwestern University
Joanne Mortimer
City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
Barbara Murphy
Vanderbilt University
Paula O’Connor
Oncopeptides Inc.
Julie Park
Seattle Children’s Hospital
Lori Pierce
University of Michigan
Alyx Porter
Mayo Clinic
Debra Pratt
Texas Oncology
Roula Qaqish
Kimryn Rathmell
Vanderbilt University
Abby Rosenberg
Seattle Children’s Hospital
Hope Rugo
University of California San Francisco
Tara Sanft
Yale School of Medicine
Nina Shah
University of California San Francisco
Christi Shaw
Kite Pharma
Christine Simmons
BC Cancer Agency
Archana Sondhi
Anna Spreafico
Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
Marion Subklewe
University Hospital LMU Munich
Sandra Swain
Georgetown University Medical Center
Ralu Vladd
Bristol Myers Squibb
Melissa Weatherspoon
Ashani Weeraratna
Johns Hopkins University
Nancy Whiting
Karen Winkfield
Meharry-Vanderbilt Alliance
Torunn Yock
Massachusetts General Hospital