9th Annual Women Leaders
in Oncology Reception

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Thank you for supporting the next generation of women leaders in oncology!

With your support and generosity, we have made tremendous progress towards the 2023 Women Leaders in Oncology Women Who Conquer Cancer (WLO WWCC) Young Investigator Award and Endowment!

With a target of $1.35 million by 2026, every donation makes a difference. Please encourage your network of colleagues, family, and friends to support the WLO YIA endowment, which will ensure that female oncology scientists can receive annual research funding for years to come!

To donate, text WLO to 41444 or visit here.

Thank You, Dr. Sonali Smith!

2022 Keynote Speaker, Sonali M. Smith, MD, Section Chief of Hematology/Oncology at the University of Chicago, delivered a powerful keynote address sharing lessons from her personal journey to become a leader within this industry.

“We are blessed to be in a phenomenal group of strong women, and I have had so many people along the way who have taught me…and having this village is one of the most incredible blessings of life.”

Sonali Smith, MD, University of Chicago

Congratulations 2022 Honorees!

Women Leaders in Oncology Women Who Conquer Cancer 2022 Recipient

Susan Scott, MD
Johns Hopkins University

2022 WWCC Mentorship
Award Recipients

National Mentorship Award
S. Gail Eckhardt, MD, FASCO
University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School
International Mentorship Award
Cynthia Villarreal-Garza, MD, DSc
Tecnológico de Monterrey

2022 WWCC Career Development Award Recipient

2022 Career Development Award
Victoria Wang, MD, PhD
University of California, San Francisco

2022 WWCC Young Investigator Award Recipients

Katherine Knorr, MD, PhD
Rockefeller University
Nayan Lamba, MD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Merve Hasanov, MD
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Chengwei Peng, MD
New York University
Jasmine Sukumar, MD
The Ohio State University
Gladys Rodriguez, MD
Stanford University
Ana Velazquez Manana, MD, MS
University of California, San Francisco 
Wen-Hsuan Wendy Lin, MD, PhD
Columbia University Medical Center
Susan Scott, MD
Johns Hopkins University​

2022 WLO Leadership Nominees

61 women were nominated by WLO attendees for exemplifying leadership in oncology and serving as mentors and advocates. On behalf of WLO, thank you for your exceptional leadership and continued advocacy for women in oncology.

Janis Abkowitz
University of Washington
Meg Amplement
Nancy Bartlett
Washington University School of Medicine
Christine Bestvina
University of Chicago Medicine
Julie Brahmer
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Kelly Buis
Barbara Burtness
Yale University
Lisa Carey
University of North Carolina, School of Medicine
Lara Cavalli
Bristol Myers Squibb
Maiyan Chau
Suzanne Conzen
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Nancy Davidson
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center, University of Washington
Narjust Duma
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Eva Ehrnrooth
IO Biotech
Andrea Eisen
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Gini Fleming
University of Chicago
Paula Franson
Instil Bio
Larisa Geskin
Columbia University, Irving Medical Center
Sharlene Gill
University of British Columbia Cancer Agency
Meredith Giuliani
University of Toronto, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
Christa Gott
Julie Graff
Oregon Health & Science University
Desiree Hao
University of Calgary, Tom Baker Cancer Centre
Marilyn Heine
Drexel University
Sarah Holstein
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Leora Horn
Dilyara Kaidarova
Kazakh Institute of Oncology & Radiology
Bridget Keenan
University of California, San Francisco
Karen Kelly
International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer
Tari King
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Barbara Klencke
Sierra Oncology
Christine Lovly
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Maryam Lustberg
Yale University, School Of Medicine
Karen Macus
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Jane Meisel
Emory University
Katy Miller
Kathleen Moore
University of Oklahoma, Stephenson Cancer Center
Sharmin Moten
Lisa Newman
Weill Cornell Medicine
Susan O’Brien
University of California, Irvine
Anna Pavlick
Weill Cornell Medicine
Amy Peterson
Kim Plumly
Julia Rowland
Smith Center
Tara Sanft
Yale University, Smilow Cancer Center
Susanne Schaffert
Nina Shah
University of California San Francisco
Christi Shaw
Kite Pharma
Margaret Shipp
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Wendy Short-Bartie
Bristol Myers Squibb
Tania Small
Sonali Smith
University of Chicago Medicine
Cora Sternberg
Weill Cornell Medicine
Maria Taddeo
Molly Taylor
Seattle Children's Research Institute
Sara Tolaney
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Jessica Tyler
Susan Velani
Jodi Virkus
Katherine Waltman-Johnson
Tian Zhang
University of Texas, Southwestern